Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

March 06, 2023

The Honorable Michael S. Regan Administrator Environmental Protection Agency 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, D.C. 20460

Dear Administrator Regan,

With record high inflation and increased global uncertainty, America's farmers and all Americans are struggling to keep up. As representatives from Iowa, we hear from farmers regularly about the impact that high fuel costs have on Iowa producers' ability to feed America.

We write, therefore, with concern regarding the Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) March 1, 2023 proposed rule that would delay summer sales of E15 fuel until 2024. Delayed implementation of this rule will exacerbate the ongoing financial strain our farmers—and all Iowans—face. We request the Environmental Protection Agency issue an immediate implementation of its rule to ensure E15 fuel is available year-round beginning this year.

Retailers and consumers want to know that they can access E15 this summer. Supply chain disruptions, labor shortages, and Russia's invasion of Ukraine, have all contributed to a significant hike in the price of crucial farm inputs like fuel. In just two years, the average price of a gallon of diesel fuel increased by 95 percent. Additionally, in 2022, the average price of a gallon of gasoline reached its highest level ever recorded.

As input costs rise, our farmers' ability to ensure continuation of our abundant food supply decreases. Iowa is the number one producer of biofuel, providing a home-grown solution that positively impacts our environment, economy, and American producers.

As the summer of 2023 approaches, however, our biofuel producers and farmers' ability to provide this crucial fuel remains restricted. Immediate implementation of the EPA's proposed rule before the summer is a significant opportunity to ensure America's farmers have the resources, certainty, and stability needed to succeed.

Thank you for your consideration, and we look forward to your response as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Zach Nunn

Member of Congress

Randy Feenstra

Member of Congress

Ashley Hinson
Member of Congress

Mariannette Miller-Meeks

Member of Congress

Cc: The Honorable Joseph Biden, President of the United States