May 1, 2024 | Press Releases

Nunn Awards Iowa Medal of Merit to Perry Police Department Officers

Perry, Iowa —U.S. Representative Zach Nunn (IA-03) visited the Perry Police Department on Friday, April 25th to honor the brave officers who responded swiftly to the incident at Perry High School on January 4th, 2024. During the ceremony, Rep. Nunn presented the prestigious Iowa Medal of Merit to these dedicated law enforcement professionals.

“In January, our community was rocked by the tragic attack at Perry High School. The Perry Police Department helped save lives with their courageous and rapid response,” said Rep. Nunn. “It’s my privilege to honor these men and women in uniform for their willingness to run into danger to keep our community safe. We can’t say thank you enough!”

The officers’ courage and commitment to duty were evident on that fateful day when they faced a critical situation at Perry High School. The officers honored with the Iowa Medal of Merit include: Chief Eric Vaughn, Officer Micaela Zagar, Officer Cameron Martinez, and School Resource Officer Josh Moore. Their rapid response and unwavering dedication saved lives and ensured the safety of students and staff.

“Our officers were honored to be recognized for their response and actions on January 4th,” said Chief Eric Vaughn. “Our training had taught us how to respond to a situation we hoped we would never have to.”

“We appreciate all you did. We’re still healing from what happened. We’re going to get through it,” said Mayor Dirk Cavanaugh. “We appreciate you all, and everyone’s efforts through this whole time.”

The ceremony concluded with a heartfelt round of applause for the officers, their families, and the entire Perry Police Department. The Iowa Medal of Merit recognizes heroes in our community, including law enforcement, that serve their community honorably.